16 Apr Virginia Auto Accident : Unattended Property Damage – a Lawyer’s Reporting
In Virginia, a driver in a vehicle accident causing only damage to unattended property must stop at the scene, make a reasonable effort to find the property owner or custodian, and report his identification. Va. Code Ann. §46.2-896. If the owner or custodian is not found, the driver must leave a conspicuous note at the scene and report the vehicle accident in writing within 24 hours to the state police or local law-enforcement agency. Id.
If injuries sustained in the vehicle accident prevent the driver from complying with the foregoing, the driver must report as soon as reasonably possible thereafter. Id. However, if the driver fails to report as required, then every passenger 16 years of age or older has a duty to report within 24 hours to the state police or local law-enforcement agency. §46.2-897.