20 Mar Virginia MVA Reports: Va. Code Ann. §46.2-373 (Amended) – a Lawyer’s Witness
Senate Bill 39 passed the Virginia General Assembly in 2009. Effective July 1, 2009, it amends Va. Code Ann. §46.2-373.
The new amendment increases the threshold at which motor vehicle accidents are subject to written reports by the police. The vehicle damage threshold moves from $1,000.00 to $1,500.00 to be reportable.
From a personal injury standpoint, the amended statute stands to create more “he said, she said” disputes after-the-fact, because no independent officer will be taking statements or otherwise recording facts independently. Hence, the onus will be on victim’s of suchvehicle accidents to identify witnesses themselves, which may prove a daunting if not impossible task given the accident circumstances and their personal injuries.