19 Mar Virginia MVA Texting: Va. Code Ann. §46.2-1078.1 (Amended) – a Lawyer’s Prohibition
House Bill 1876 passed the 2009 Virginia General Assembly. Effective July 1, 2009, it amends Va. Code Ann. §46.2-1078.1.
Toward avoiding vehicle accidents, the new amendment prohibits operating a motor vehicle while using any hand held personal communication device to enter or read a text message. However, it exempts GPS, reporting an emergency, or reading caller identification information.
The new law will carry a traffic fine of $20.00 for first-time offenders and $50.00 for repeat offenders. More importantly, violating it while involved in a vehicle accident will constitute negligence per se.