26 Oct Virginia: Car Accident – a Lawyer’s Restraints
Virginia’s Child Restraints law, Va. Code Ann. 46.2-1095(A), protects children under 8 years old in vehicle accidents. It requires all drivers to ensure that children 7 years of age or younger be provided with and properly secured in a child restraint device – a so-called “safety seat” – approved by the United States Department of Transportation. That safety seat must be placed in the rear passenger seat; or if there is no back seat, in the front passenger seat only if it does not have an operational side airbag.
Section 46.2-1095(B) of Virginia’s Child Restraint law also protects older minors in vehicle accidents. It requires all drivers to ensure that children over 7 and under 18 years of age are provided with and properly secured by an appropriate safety belt system consisting of lap belts, shoulder harnesses, combinations thereof, or similar devices.