15 Apr Virginia Auto Accident: Death, Injury or Damage Reporting – a Lawyer’s Passenger
In Virginia, a passenger in a vehicle accident is responsible for reporting if the driver fails to stop and report the resulting death, personal injury or property damage. Va. Code Ann. §46:2-895. The duty applies to a passenger 16 years of age or older who has knowledge of the vehicle accident.
Such a passenger has 24 hours from the vehicle accident to report to the state police or local law-enforcement agency. The passenger must report his identity and other vehicle accident information known. Id.